Users and groups

The concept of users and groups has been implemented to manage who gets to see and perform certain actions. A user needs to be part of at least one user group but can be assigned to as many user groups as you like. For each user group, you can control what the users in this group may see and do. We call this concept permissions.

What are user groups? 

User groups define user permissions in Kadanza and allow you to create a permission scheme entirely in line with your specific needs. Every user needs to be a member of at least one user group in order to have access to the platform.

The main purpose of user groups is to organize users and control their permissions. In this section, you’ll learn how to create new user groups, assign users to user groups, and apply specific rights to a user group.

User group overview

When clicking on a user group from the list, a detailed overview page of that specific user group will open, where you can do the following:

  • Manage members: Add/remove members from the selected user group by (un)checking the checkboxes preceding their names.
    • Search bar: Find the users you’re looking for faster using the search function.
    • Status: The user status is also visible in this window.
    • Cancel: Hit this button to discard your changes.
    • Save: Hit this button to save your changes.
  • Edit: Allows you to change the fields that were entered during the Add new group step:
    • Group name: Enter the name of your group (this name will only be visible to admins).
    • Description: Describe your user group, so it makes sense to other admins or space owners why this group was created.
    • Redirect on login: When a user logs into this group, he will be redirected to the following page. If a user is in multiple groups with redirect settings, no redirect will occur. However, it will still work if a redirect is configured on only one of these groups.
  • More actions: The button with the three dots (…) gives you some extra options for the user group:
    • Enable/disable group: A new group is always enabled by default, but you can also disable it. You’ll also find a small dot and the status of your group next to the number of members, showing whether the group is enabled or disabled.
    • Delete: This allows you to permanently delete the entire user group.

All users

This is the place where you keep an overview of all your users. You can add new users here, and edit or delete existing ones.

Logged-in users have access to one or more spaces from a tenant depending on their defined setup and user groups. 

Click this button to add a new user to this space (you can abort this process at any time by closing the window).

  • Email: Enter the email address to which you would like to send the invitation (your email also doubles as your username).
  • Select a role: Define the role of this user within the company.
    • Account owner: Has access to everything in the entire organization including Plan and Billing. Only Account owners can change the plan and billing information.
    • Admin: Has access to everything except for Plan and Billing. An admin can access every User and their settings except the Account owner.
    • User: No admin rights, can only view the pages and components assigned through User Groups.
  • Add groups: Define the groups that this user will be able to access
    • Send invite: Click this button to complete the process and send an invite to the email address that you provided.

You can change all of the user settings later by clicking on the user from the All Users list. 

Organizing your team

There are multiple ways in which you can decide on user groups. The two most common ways are:

1. Based on the function within the company

Most companies are structured into different departments or teams. People who are part of these departments or teams often have the same permissions.

For example; let’s assume we set up Kadanza for a packaging company specialized in creating cardboard boxes. The teams could be:

  • Management: People focus on the company’s day-to-day management, and finances,…
  • Marketing: Everybody working on marketing, communication, sales,…
  • Design: The people that design the new cardboard boxes and communication materials for the marketing team
  • Production: Everybody in the factory who makes sure the boxes are created, and packaged,…

The user groups created for this company would be:

  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Design
  • Production

As a marketing employee, I am in the user group “Marketing”, as a production employee, I am in the user group “Production”, and so on.

You could decide to create a user group for each team listed above. This provides a clear structure that is aligned with your company structure.

If your company has an Active Directory (AD) in which all user accounts are managed, a structure like the one above has probably already been set up for user management.

2. Based on permissions in Kadanza

Another way of creating user groups is by starting from your permissions scheme. In this way, you can easily see which user has which permission(s).

The downside of this approach is that this structure does not match most AD setups, which means that your IT department will have to add every user to the correct group(s) to ensure they have the correct permission in Kadanza.

If you are connected via Single Sign-On (SSO) to other platforms, chances are high that those platforms have different permissions, and structures as well as making the number of different user groups unclear in your AD.

For example: let’s use the same teams from the packaging company in the previous example.

The user groups created for this company could be:

  • Basic user: Has access to a limited set of pages and assets categories
  • Advanced user: Has access to all pages and categories
  • Upload: Can upload, edit and delete assets
  • Download: Can download assets

As a Marketing employee, I am in the groups “Advanced user”, “Upload” and “Download”. As a Production employee, I am in the groups “Basic user” and “Download”.

From our experience, a combination of both function and permission-based configurations works best for most of our customers and ensures every possible scenario is covered.

When using Single Sign-On (SSO) to access Kadanza, the user groups are determined by your IT department. So be sure to discuss the options with your IT when SSO is required during the setup.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us