Categories

When you set categories correctly, it'll be easier to find your assets because they'll be organized. So, make sure to think before creating categories randomly and adding assets to a category. You can create several categories before uploading your assets. 

Adding and deleting categories

Creating categories is super simple. In the category tree, we already created the space categories for you. 

Click the actions button next to the category name to add a subcategory.

Enter a name for your new category and click  Create to complete the process. Click Cancel if you’d like to discard your creation. The new category details page is automatically opened after clicking the Create button. You can change the category name and define the category permissions on this detail page.

From the  Categories overview page you can perform the following actions:

  • Add subcategory: Create a child category under the parent where you clicked the button from.
  • Edit: Click the name of a category to edit its settings.
  • Delete: Removes the category. Keep in mind that only empty categories can be deleted. If there are assets stored in a category you will see a warning and you will not be able to delete the category.

Delete/duplicate category

These two actions can be performed in 2 places:

  1. In the category itself in the top right corner of the page
  2. On the Categories overview page, when you click on the three dots '…' of a category

Category Permissions

When talking about categories, users can have 5 different default permissions:

  • Add: Allows users to add or move assets in a category.
  • View: This gives the user the right to see a category and the assets listed in that category. You can also define which type of asset is visible for each user group (e.g., JPEG files are visible for standard users while InDesign files in that same category are only visible to admins).
  • Edit: Allows users to update an asset:
    • Change metadata
    • Change category
    • Change thumbnail
    • Clone asset
    • Change publication/expiration date
    • Upload version
  • Delete: Allows users to soft delete assets. When an asset is soft deleted, it is removed from every category in which it was placed. After soft deleting an asset, the administrator can restore the asset. After 30 days, it is deleted permanently.
  • Download original: This allows a user to download the original file from a category. This permission does not affect the export profiles available for that category. When a user doesn’t have the Download original permission but is allowed to download a cropped export profile, the user will only be able to download the cropped export profile and not the original file type.

In the image above, you can see an example of how you can define the  View asset permission for this category. Carefully select per category what type of assets the users can see. Refine even further by adding file types to the permissions.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us